You are here

P&T® Journal contents for March 2005


Editor’s Memo
The FDA is hard at work on a variety of drug safety issues. Stay tuned.
Sonja Sherritze
The authors review the reasons why drug importation is still prohibited.
Tanya Nelson, PharmD, and Jerilyn B. Petropoulos, BS, PharmD, BCPS
Dr. Goldenberg explains some of the high-tech and low-tech initiatives being undertaken by the FDA to improve drug safety for consumers.
Marvin M. Goldenberg, PhD, RPh, MS
As members of The Drug Shortage Team, the authors describe the causes of and some solutions to drug shortfalls.
CDR Valerie Jensen, RPh, Rene Kimzey, RNC, MEd, and LCDR Jouhayna Saliba, PharmD
The newly created Drug Safety Oversight Board is a step in the right direction.
Richard G. Stefanacci, DO, MGH, MBA, AGSF, CMD
The authors summarize the responses of participants at two roundtable discussions, held in 2004, to a new decision-analytic model of SRIs.
Patrick W. Sullivan, PhD, Robert Valuck, PhD, RPh, Diana I. Brixner, PhD, and Edward P. Armstrong, PharmD
The skills of pharmacy students can be useful in preventing errors in the areas of clinical appropriateness, administration, ordering, procedures, and dispensing.
Alan Caspi, PhD, PharmD, MBA, Vitalina Rozenfeld, PharmD, BCPS, and Jennie Kleyman, PharmD, BCPS


David Nash, MD, MBA, discusses the rationale for electronic prescribing and the contributions of the Leapfrog Group.
David Nash, MD, MBA
Letter to the Editor
A. Mark Parker, MD, MSHA
Matthew Grissinger, RPh, FASCP, explains why honesty is the best policy when it comes to disclosing medical errors to patients and their families.
Matthew Grissinger, RPh, FASCP
Prescription: Washington
Stephen Barlas reviews some of the rules that P&T committees will soon have to follow in relation to Part D Medicare benefits.
Stephen Barlas
P&T presents the latest information about FDA approvals, drug indications, industry updates, and new devices.
Drug Forecast
The authors review the agent dexmedetomidine (Precedex®) for the sedation of critically ill patients in the intensive care unit.
Diana Abramov, PharmD Candidate, Boris Nogid, PharmD, and Anna Nogid, PharmD